Home / The Tourism sector in Tunisia
The Tourism sector in Tunisia

Tunisian tourism is engaging into the 21st century with a number of assets: the geographic proximity to the biggest world tourism market: the European Union; a modern, diversified and particularly competitive infrastructure … not to mention Tunisian professional’ skills and extraordinary adaptation capacity to face changes in the sector. Ib addition to this, professionals are backed by a supporting, organized and inspired administration.

Finally, the main asset of Tunisian tourism is Tunisia‚Äôs economic and social stability, equanimity and life quality, making it a safe destination, a ‚Äúhaven of peace‚ÄĚ in an ever changing world.

The development of tourism in Tunisia represents an economic opportunity, a choice and also a basic future requirement. A prevailing idea has it that the diversification of tourism in Tunisia must contribute to the sustainability of projects. It must favor the loyalty of possible customers, and the creation of innovative services pertaining to Tourism.

Improvement in the quality of service is reflected in the multiplicity of high standard units, with a total capacity increasing from 15000 beds in 1987 to more than 65000 in 2000, or a four times increase, while the global rooming capacity rate has doubled. The quality of services also improved through the introduction of a new classification system for hotels, the 2000 standards. Efforts spent in terms of hotel training programs also illustrate this policy which will enable Tunisian tourism to better serve conventional customers and attract new types of clients.

In quantitative terms, the rooming capacity in Tunisia has considerably developed, increasing from 100.000 beds in 1987 to 226.000 beds in 2004 and shall reach 300.000 beds by 2025.

Tunisia, a three thousand year old country, represents nowadays the first Arab and African destination, and is ranked among the first thirty destinations worldwide.

This success can be reflected through various indicators:

800 hotels were created as of 2004 and offer 226 153 beds; the number of non resident tourists visiting Tunisia amounted in 2004 to 5,997 millions (58,1% are Europeans). They spent a total of 33,487 million nights.
Foreign currency imports generated by these tourists increased to 2,238.8 billion dinars (1,4 billion Euros) representing 17% of the country’s total revenues.
In 2003, tourism investments amounted to 282.3 million dinars.
The tourism sector contributes with 7% to the G.D.P, generates 380 000 direct and indirect jobs and covers 56% of the country’s commercial deficit.

On the other hand, efforts engaged by Tunisia in terms of professional and vocational training is increasingly reinforced and is generating positive results.

Finally, assistance provided to the sector is flexible and efficient. It is provided by :

A Ministry representing the Authority and Orientation Administration

The National Tourism Office, a real engine for the promotion, marketing and control of tourism products, relying on a network of regional delegations and representations abroad.
The National Tourism Real Estate Agency, runs regional delegations, and is in charge of the design and execution of coherent tourism development plans through the genuine management of properties and the implementation of basic infrastructures.
Professionals operating in a number of representative and active professional federations.

The exchange of thoughts, cooperation and the harmonious collaboration between the Administration and the business community unquestionably constitute a major key for the success of the tourism business in Tunisia.

Accueil / Secteur Touristique en Tunisie
Secteur Touristique en Tunisie
Le Tourisme tunisien entame le XXIème Siècle avec plusieurs caractéristiques : la proximité géographique avec le plus grand marché touristique mondial – l'Union Européenne - , une infrastructure moderne, une offre riche, diversifiée et surtout compétitive….Sans oublier la compétence des professionnels tunisiens et leur extraordinaire capacité d'adaptation face aux mutations du secteur. Des Professionnels qui trouvent avec eux, derrière eux, une Administration de Tourisme solidaire, organisée et inspirée.

Enfin, l'atout majeur du tourisme tunisien demeure cette stabilité économique et sociale, cette sérénité et cette qualité de vie qui caractérisent la Tunisie et qui en font une destination sûre, « une oasis de paix » dans un monde en effervescence.

Le développement du tourisme en Tunisie est conçu comme une opportunité économique, un choix, et aussi une nécessité pour son avenir. L'idée majeur qui l'emporte maintenant c'est que la diversification du tourisme en Tunisie doit contribuer à  la durabilité des projets. Elle doit favoriser la stabilisation de la clientèle potentielle, et la Création de services innovateurs liés au tourisme.

L'amélioration de la qualité se reflète dans la place accrue occupée par les unités haut de gamme, dans la structure du parc hôtelier, qui ne représentaient en 1987 que 15.000 lits et qui en représentent en 2000 plus de 65.000, soit plus de quatre fois plus alors que la capacité d'hébergement globale a été multipliée par deux. L'amélioration de la qualité de l'offre est également attestée par l'introduction de nouveaux critères de classification des hôtels, les Normes 2000. L'effort fait en matière de formation hôtelière est une autre illustration de cette politique qui doit permet au tourisme tunisien de mieux satisfaire la clientèle classique et d'attirer de nouveaux segments de clientèle.

Sur le plan quantitatif la Capacité d'hébergement en Tunisie a connu un développement spectaculaire, puisqu'elle passe de 100.000 lits en 1987 à  226.000 lits en 2004 et devraient atteindre 300.000 lits d'ici 2025.

La Tunisie, pays aux trois mille ans d'histoire se présente aujourd'hui comme la première destination arabe et africaine et elle est classée parmi les trente principales au monde.

Cette réussite est attestée par de nombreux indicateurs :
Les 800 unités hôtelières réalisées jusqu'à  l'année 2004 totalisent 226 153 lits et le nombre de touristes non résident ayant visité la Tunisie a atteint en 2004 5,997 millions (58,1% d'Européens) enregistrant 33,487 millions de nuitées.
Les entrées de devises enregistrées à  la suite de ce flux touristique se sont élevées à  2238,8 millions de dinars (1,4 milliard d'euros) représentant 17% des entrées totales du pays.
Les investissements touristiques ont atteint en 2003, 282.3 millions de dinars.
Le secteur touristique contribue à  hauteur de 7% du P.I.B, génère 380 000 emplois directs et indirects et couvre 56% du déficit de la balance commerciale du pays.

D'un autre côté, l'effort engagé par la Tunisie en matière de formation professionnelle ne cesse de se consolider et de donner des résultats probants.

Enfin, l'encadrement du secteur est souple et efficient. Il s'articule autour :

d'un Ministère qui constitue l'Organisme de Tutelle et d'Orientation
de l'Office National du Tourisme, véritable moteur de promotion, de commercialisation et de contrôle du produit touristique avec ses Commissariats Régionaux et ses Représentations à  l'étranger
de L'Agence Foncière Touristique qui assure avec ses Délégations Régionales la conception et la réalisation de plans d'Aménagement touristiques cohérents par la maîtrise du foncier et la mise en place des infrastructures de base
et les Professionnels qui se sont organisés au sein de Fédérations professionnelles représentatives et actives.

La concertation, la coopération et la collaboration harmonieuse entre l'Administration et la Profession constitue incontestablement une des clés du succès du tourisme en Tunisie.